University of Brawijaya 6.04

4.5 star(s) from 203 votes
Jalan Veteran
Tanjungpinang, 65145

About University of Brawijaya

Contact Details & Working Hours


University of Brawijaya , established in 1963 and located in Malang, is a state university in Indonesia. UB is a leading university in Indonesia with more than 30,000 students in degrees ranging from the diploma programs, Bachelor’s degree program, Master’s degree program, Doctoral degree program, and Medical Specialist program in 16 faculties.UB campus is in the city of Malang, East Java, in a strategic location easily reached by public transportation. The campus has a pleasant climate with many trees and the cool air of Malang at 475 meters elevation.HistoryThe name Universitas Brawijaya was granted by the president of the Republic of Indonesia through a wire sent on July 11, 1961. This name is derived from the title of kings of Majapahit, a great kingdom in Indonesia from the 12th to 15th centuries. University of Brawijaya transformed into a state university on January 5, 1963, following a presidential decree issued earlier in the same year. This date was later promulgated as UB's anniversary (specially called Dies Natalies among Indonesian academic society members). Before its transformation into a state university in 1967, UB had started its operation in 1957 in Malang, as a branch of University of Sawerigading Makassar. In those days, this Malang branch had two faculties: Law and Economics. Then, on July 1, 1960, its name was changed into the Municipal University of Malang. Under the new name, two more faculties were established a few months later: Trade Administration and Agriculture.At the time of its transformation into a state university, UB had five faculties: Law, Economics, State Governance and Trade Management (an extension of the Faculty of Trade Administration now called the Faculty of Administrative Science), Agriculture, and Veterinary and Animal Husbandry. In 1973, the Faculty of Veterinary and Animal Husbandry was then divided into the Faculty of Animal Husbandry and the Faculty of Veterinary, which were under Airlangga University. The Faculty of Engineering was established in 1963 based on a decree form the Ministry of Universities and Education Science in the same year.

Map of University of Brawijaya

Reviews of University of Brawijaya

   Loading comments-box...